Dear Hay House, I’m Appalled.

Dear Hay House,

I’m writing in regards to your self-publishing branch known as ‘Balboa Press.’ It has come to my attention that you provide packages for authors to self-publish their work with a chance of being picked up by Hay House. What a deal! Your hook is, “Follow the Footsteps of Louise Hay.”

I’ve been a fan of Louise L Hay since I was fifteen when I first read: You Can Heal Your Life. Louise has been an inspiration to me, and therefore, I had a natural trust in her publishing company, Hay House. Balboa Press seems like a wonderful idea for those with unsolicited manuscripts wanting to get their work seen.

FIRSTLY

You have no information on your site. Authors have to ‘sign up.’ It’s obvious you’re a vanity press from the get go.

SECONDLY

You have created packages for authors which they are not allowed to see until they’ve signed up. This is the first red flag.

THIRDLY

You are charging THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS to publish your authors. While this is normal for a vanity press, due to all the ‘people hours’ you put in, you don’t even offer editing. That’s extra. So what exactly are you offering for that amount? A piddly PDF to help with marketing, a front cover, an ISBN, printing set-up and an EBook? Is that it? Really? Please feel free to respond and let me know, because I’m pretty sure I could do all that for about $200.

LASTLY

And this is the REAL KICKER, you want royalties. Um … excuse me?

No.

You either get A: upfront payments OR B: Royalties. Not both. That’s just plain greedy, and rude.

I’ve seen plenty of other presses try this on, including Zeus Publications on the Gold Coast, Australia.

It’s criminal. It’s disgusting. I’m appalled. So, I’ll be thinking twice before I purchase another work from Hay House, and I hope others will, too.

Please make some changes.

 

Sincerely

 

HMC

 

PS Dear Readers, if you know of any presses who are similar, please post them below. Also, if you’re looking to publish, always check the PREDITORS AND EDITORS website before selecting a publisher to submit to: CLICK HERE to see PRED ED

 

 

For more HMC stuffs and thingamabobs, go to http://www.hmcwriter.com

3 thoughts on “Dear Hay House, I’m Appalled.

  1. Reblogged this on CKBooks Publishing and commented:
    And why is HMC having issues with Hay House’s Balboa Press? Because it is run by Author House and anything run by Author Solutions (and there are many: iuniverse, Xlibrus, Author House, Lulu, Albia, Hydra, Archway, Tafford…) is a scam to take advantage of authors.
    I was also disappointed that a company like Hay House, which is known for helping people, has decided to go with such a shady company. I hope, if enough people complain to them, that they decide to drop Author Solutions, if for nothing else than the sake of their own reputation, let alone the people that depend on them for their wise words.

Leave a Reply

