We’re all Mad Here

We’ve gone mad.

il_570xN_194643824

No really, the world has lost touch with reality.

How far will we have to go before we’re all pushed over the edge, and start laughing at how absolutely ridiculous all of this is? How long before our kids turn around and say, ‘What are you people thinking? You’re the role models? HA! What chance have we got if we listen to you?’

Now, don’t take that personally, I’m just being a smart arse, but here’s the thing:

I’m starting to realise why we get so overwhelmed with life. It’s not because we never stop doing, it’s because we NEVER STOP THINKING. See the crazy woman walking down the street so stuck in her own thoughts that she’s actually saying them out loud because she no longer understands the difference? That could be me one day if I’m not careful.

We’re all so lost in our thoughts that we miss a huge percentage of what it is really going on around us. We’re all running around like headless chooks, trying to get ‘through things, to the next thing, waiting for what is coming.’

I know, I know – people talk about being in the ‘now’ and yeah yeah, we’ve heard that, but let’s pull it apart for a second … humour me.

Why do we enjoy going to different countries and holidaying so much? Because we are in awe of the new setting and it GETS US OUT OF OUR HEAD FOR FIVE MINUTES and we can actually spend time breathing and taking it all in.

Why do we love television and movies? No thought.

Why do we love walking through the bush? (well, I do) No thought.

Why do we take drugs and drink alcohol? No thought.

Why do we write books, paint, go fishing, develop obsessions with building model cars, or coin collecting?

untitled

It takes us away, for a moment, even just a moment, from that voice in our head that just won’t be quiet for five damn minutes all on its own. In those moments, we don’t have a little voice driving us crazy with the yadda yadda yadda, yap, yap, yap, assessing, pigeonholing, synthesising, analysing, boxercising, judging … Some things help that voice to SHUT UP.

You think you think your thoughts? Try not thinking … then you’ll see why we are all mad down here, because our thoughts are thinking us, my friend.

So, it seems, ‘no thought’ could be our greatest friend. Not all the time, we need to think, but too much thinking is making us tired. I’m realising that being in the now, just a little, is vitally important for sanity.

So how do we stop?

My favourite comes from Eckhart Tolle:

All we need to do is realise that we NEED SPACE, before we can start to find some space in our thinking. Just take one breath, a few times a day, and focus only on that breath (I mean breathe the whole day and everything, just notice a few of them). That’s a space. Now practise that for one year, and see what difference that makes. I’m going to try this one. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Abraham Hicks

The Abrahams suggest we make time to do the things we love – no exception. Walk on the beach, surf a wave in Hawaii, read a book about falling in love, anything that makes you feel good and stops ‘the voice.’

Buddha

Meditate.

This is the one that we could be teaching our children. Imagine a world where every human meditates once a day. (Go team Silkwood).

I’d love to hear from you about your journey. Is this something you’ve studied, or thought about? Please share with us in the comments.

‘There is a place. Like no place on Earth.

A land full of wonder, mystery, and danger!

Some say to survive it: You need to be as mad as a hatter.


Which luckily I am.’

~ The Mad Hatter

The-Mad-Hatter-alice-in-wonderland-2010-10293069-500-313

PEACE

HMC

Follow HMC HERE

Hayley m clearihan

Writer

5 thoughts on “We’re all Mad Here

  1. The real problem is that not enough people do actual thinking in their thinking. They have thoughts but not thoughts that are thinking thoughts.
    After reading a few articles about this stuff (and a couple of posts some time back), I’ve been doing some of my own sort of data collection research and, so far, people don’t like to think. They don’t want to talk about any kind of thinking subjects, either. In fact, they avoid those things as much as possible.

    So, yeah, I don’t know what my actual point is here other than that I suppose what you’re saying is valuable for some people, but (according to research) at least 80% of people already spend all of their time doing what you’re saying, but they’re doing it all the time.

    • Hmmmm, I see what you are saying. I’m talking about finding stillness, rather than allowing the constant chatter in our heads to distract us from what we are doing. Sitting and gazing at your children for a moment, for example, not judging or playing a role, but just observing peacefully without putting it into words. That’s the space I mean. It doesn’t last long, but we need it.

      • I can see that. That’s certainly something I never do. I hate “doing nothing,” and, actually, at this point in my life, it usually causes me to go to sleep.

  2. Since indoors I spend much of my time talking to the pictures on the walls- photographs, I don’t think I want to be a role model. As for being off my rocker, I’m not sure since so far the pictures aren’t answering back. I think and then I overthink and then I think it’s too much and start again.I’m going to focus on those few breaths a day and see if I find the peace it offers.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

