Aaron’s Gluten-Free Fitness Journey

I’ve been following Aaron for a while now, and he has been an inspiration to my health journey.

Wheat and dairy are a huge part of our diets nowadays. I got pretty sick on my trip to Italy, and I found out I had a small gluten intolerance (how can you say no to bread in Italy?). My daughter, Charlotte, also had an intolerance for dairy when she was born. It got me to thinking, how many of us out there could correlate the way we feel to the amount of gluten or Casein that we put in our bodies? (Casein has a wide variety of uses, from being a major component of cheese, to use as a food additive, to a binder for safety matches).

Some of us can stomach it, some of us can’t, and at the end of the day, how good is it for us?


What inspired you to go gluten free?

A few years ago I started getting unexplained digestion issues and skin rashes which initially I brushed off as a side effect of a bad diet. Eventually it really started to bother me so I began going to multiple doctors and dermatologist but no one could tell me what was wrong. After about a year and a half I gave up and thought I would have to live with these issues forever. It was suggested to me in passing that I try a naturopathic physician so I made an appointment. She ran a few allergy tests and that same appointment told me to cut gluten out of my diet. Since then I have been trying to avoid gluten and feel wonderful. (as you can see in the photos my skin is a little irritated, had some toast this week)

IMG_1735What difference has it made to how you feel?

Since cutting gluten out of my diet my digestion has improved immensely and my skin irritations have stopped. When I do occasionally have gluten now I get stomach aches and horrible rashes on my skin that itch like crazy. They itch so much at times that I bleed from scratching so much. Going gluten free has been super for my healthy lifestyle change because gluten happens to be in almost all processed and boxed foods so it’s easy for me to say no to quick junk foods.

 

 

Can you share a yummy recipe?

Of course, one of my favorite recipes is one that my wonderful spouse Hannah has created, gluten free vegan waffles. They are DELICIOUS, we have served them to friends and family that aren’t gluten free with always positive feedback.

photo

How do you stay motivated to work out?

I stay motivated by having such a great fitness community both online and at the gym. Hearing that people actually want to read about my progress pushes me in my workouts to have something to share with readers. It’s also big motivator that I post progress pictures of myself in my underwear almost weekly hahaha. The people at my gym are incredible every time I go to workout there is someone asking me about my progress, pushing me to further in my workouts, and noticing when changes happen. Fitness instructors and fellow gym members alike, without them I wouldn’t be where I am today or possibly going to the gym at all. Fit Stop 24 in Olympia is the friendliest, most encouraging, and community oriented gym I’ve ever been to, I can’t say enough good things.

What do you do when you face a food obstacle, like Christmas or Easter?IMG_1736

Food obstacles/ celebrations that involve food are bit of a careful dance for me. I try not to be mad at myself for indulging in treats occasionally but I always have to stop myself from going overboard. Not to say that I don’t slip up sometimes, I DO! I just tell myself that I am committed to a healthy lifestyle and not a short term diet. In my opinion it’s much more harmful to let an indulgence make you say, hey I ruined all my handwork why should I keep going.

Follow Aaron on his journey to a healthy lifestyle. CLICK HERE

Visit HMC’s official website. CLICK HERE

Thanks for taking the time to share with us, Aaron.

3 thoughts on “Aaron’s Gluten-Free Fitness Journey

  1. Pingback: My first interview :) | My Gluten Free Fitness Journey

  2. Yay Aaron! Inspiring indeed because his mind is in the right place. This lifestyle is such a mental game, and if you can your head straight then you’re on your way!

Leave a Reply

