Battling Horrible Strangers and Internet Trolls

0

I once read something that has really stuck with me. In fact I use it nearly every day, when some unimportant person does something to irk me. For example: not letting me merge onto the highway, while I’m doing 110kmph, with my 6-month-old daughter in the back seat. I would grit my teeth and repeat: ‘Serenity now. Serenity now.’ This would usually result in a massive migraine and I would end up feeling like that (insert desired cuss word here) was never going to learn a thing, unless I did something about it. Like what you ask? I don’t know; some horrible, unimaginable thing. Well, those days are becoming few and far between since I read this (and remembered it):

‘When someone lashes out at you in anger- with words or with actions, their battle is not with you, but with themselves.’ ~Abraham Hicks.

God I love you Abraham. I totally get that. I know when I’m angry- I tend to react and behave in a much less ‘kindly’ manner than I would otherwise. Face it- when we’re grumpy/bored/angry/frustrated/flat/ even worried- we’re meaner. It goes for everybody. So when that so and so cuts you off and rages on through traffic like a maniac- I’m not saying it’s okay, nor is it appropriate. It’s also important for us all to get angry for a minute, if we feel like it. What I am saying is that: it is so much easier to let it go, when you remember that everyone, some VERY DEEP DOWN, but everyone, wants to be loved and needed. Especially when they are having a really crappy day, lash out at some stranger like a knob, and then later feel like a right tool for their actions.

Yes, as much as we might not think it, everybody does this- everybody- even the most righteous of righteous people feel guilty. Is it really up to us to make them pay? When we dwell, we’re really the ones who are paying. The lesson here is that the hardest people to love are the ones who need it most. Yes…even internet trolls. Those ones that make us want to pick up our computer and throw it across the room at our unsuspecting cats. But remember there are only two reasons that an internet troll might be stirring you:

  1. They are trying to get a rise out of you so that you will treat them how they think they deserve to be treated- with hate.
  2. They have mental health issues.

That’s it. When you think of it that way, it is slightly easier to have compassion for those that are obviously not as open-minded and wonderful as you are (there I go getting all judgey). As much as it is difficult to have compassion for horrible people, don’t waste too much time thinking about them, unless you can eventually see them with some type of love. That is the only way that you will benefit from the interaction.   My last words of wisdom come from a drunken Bikie who, at the age of thirteen, told me this: ‘Just because other people are a-holes, doesn’t mean you have to be one, too.’ Words to live by.   Peace HMC

The Abrahams.

One thought on “Battling Horrible Strangers and Internet Trolls

Leave a Reply

